Improving on Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix

cornbreadplateI make cornbread for us about once a month. A 12″ cast-iron skillet and one bag of mix yields a giant skillet of cornbread. We use ¼ to 1/3, and I freeze the rest for later (which can be mighty convenient on a 100-degree day when I’m only up for tossing a salad). I’ve made a few amendments to the mix, and I think they really help. First, and I know sugar is a villain so feared that, like Voldemort, we dare not to speak its name, I add it anyway (I really like to live on the edge). Second, I add more milk – ¼ cup more. Third, the way you mix the batter matters. Bob’s Red Mill Cornbread, kick-ass style 2 eggs 1/3 cup of sugar (I prefer Baker’s Sugar, which is more finely ground) 1/3 cup of canola oil 1 bag of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix 1 ¾ cups soy milk (I prefer Trader Joe’s plain soy milk that comes in half gallons in the refrigerator case – it has the most neutral flavor) Mixing using a stand mixer is ideal; next up would be a hand mixer – you will still get great results. In a pinch, work those arm muscles and do it by hand. But in this order: Heat the oven to 375ºF with the rack in the center of the oven. Pour 1 T of canola into the cast-iron pan and coat the inside using a silicone spatula. Crack eggs into the mixing bowl first (I always begin here in case the shells try to join the mix), then sugar. Mix until combined, about 30 seconds to get some air in there, then add oil and combine. Slowly add the mix until the dough looks pebbly. This mixing method works well because coating the dough mixture with fat will give you a tender crumb instead of the rubbery texture that results from adding milk sooner. Bakers usually employ this method when preparing glutinous quick-bread doughs to prevent the rubbery pull associated with great bread (but not muffins or cornbread). I find it works well in this case too. Place the cast iron on the stove and lightly heat the pan. Slowly add the milk with the mixer on, until the batter forms. Pour into the center of the skillet, turn off the stove, and place into the oven. Halfway through the bake, rotate the skillet. The bake time should increase by about 10 minutes. Bake until the top is lightly browned, then place on stove for at least 20 minutes to allow cooling (it make seem under-baked, but it will continue to bake in the skillet. pebbly2   milk batter

Pebbly, slow moves with the milk, pour and bake.  No picture of finished product!  Too busy eating...perhaps and update is in order...

Pebbly, slow moves with the milk, pour and bake. No picture of finished product! Too busy eating…perhaps and update is in order…

5 responses to “Improving on Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix

  1. Can’t wait to try your method. Have never been satisfied with the results if I follow package recipe.

  2. I really like your idea of blending dry ingredients with fat and eggs and sweetener before adding milk. I used honey and melted butter instead of sugar and oil and also added blueberries at the end….and made them into muffins 🙂 I will use more honey next time but the texture was definitely an improvement from what I remember. Thanks!

  3. I’ve been making these muffins this way since I discovered your improvements 😊 Texture is so much improved. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

